Riding That Hound. Bus Travel In The Winter Of 2022.

Mark Spearman
3 min readJan 2, 2023
A worker cleans the floors of the Columbus, Ohio COTA garage.
Columbus, Ohio COTA Garage. Image by Mark Spearman

Have you ever rode that Hound? Have you taken that trip of misery and poverty on our nation’s bus line? It’s no easy ride. I haven’t done it in many years, but my Amish friends use it. They don’t complain, but when I talk to other riders, they tell me tales of woe and warning. Even Amish will tell you that the scheduling is bad.

In the Christmas of 2022, a freak cold snap gripped the entire country. In Ohio and many other states, the temperatures were dropping 40 degrees in an hour. Columbus had a wind chill of -30 with the temperature dropping well below 0. The roads were bad. The Hound’s service went from very bad to non-existent. Amish do not have phones, so I showed for their arrival just to see if I could information about when they would arrive.

I wandered into the Columbus bus garage looking for any information, but there was nobody at the information desk. My guess was that they were stranded somewhere. Amish do not use cell phones. There is no way to call them. I would wander the streets with my camera for a while to see if they showed up.

I keep walking the block around the station so that I don’t miss them. As I do that, I notice many huddled trying to keep warm. The Hound has left passengers in freezing conditions. Many are talking or mumbling to themselves. I hear one saying, “You can do…

--

--

Mark Spearman

I hail from Central Ohio. I have a diverse background and enjoy writing to the fullest. See more at http://markspearman.com