The 2023 Prius Looks Great And That Worries Me.

Mark Spearman
3 min readNov 24, 2022
Not the 2023 Prius.
This Is Not The New Prius. It’s an antique car with 2 front ends.

My 2018 Prius was purchased for the purposes of reliablity and high fuel mileage. It exceeded my expectations. It’s at 185,000 miles with no breakdowns and only maintenance costs. This is by far the most impressive car I’ve ever owned, but wait, there’s more.

I didn’t know how hated the Prius is. I didn’t realize how fragile the average driver’s ego is. It’s shocking when the Prius realizes that their car’s existence is causing automatic road rage.

I drive the same way whether I’m in my F-150 or Nissan Versa. I ride the Harley Ultra, Honda Goldwing, and NC-700 differently, but motorcycles require a different strategy, but it’s not that much different. I follow The Smith System I learned when driving semis. Generally, it doesn’t upset people.

I’ve learned that a person really only needs 2 things to survive in this modern world: a driver’s license and a clean drug test. With that, you can make money no matter what economic situations the world is in. I’m not going to lose a driver’s license because Chad wants me to step it up a little so he can get to happy hour at BW3. My Prius is his reminder of what “to slow” is. If my Prius is doing 100(and it can do that), that is Chad’s number for “to slow”. If that causes him to road rage, fine. The extreme mudder play set that he’ll never take off road doesn’t scare me.

--

--

Mark Spearman

I hail from Central Ohio. I have a diverse background and enjoy writing to the fullest. See more at http://markspearman.com