The Pros And Cons Of Ditching Photoshop

Mark Spearman
5 min readJun 9, 2024
A Fuji X-100F. Photoshop not required.
My X-100F was the first red flag for the end of Photoshop for me.

My Relationship With Adobe Products In General

I cancelled my full Adobe subscription the other day. I’ve used it for many years and in the early days, it was a joy to use. My opinion is that about the time Adobe moved to a subscription model, my decline in interest began. Last year, they went so hard on some political and lifestyle angles embedded in all of their communication, I decide to work my way out of their software.

The past year has brought serious change to all of the software world. Adobe’s decision to censor user’s work and use it to improve their AI without compensation were major considerations. I am using Luminar Neo and their approach to AI is very different. They’re designing a new interface where Photoshop is just fumbling around with the old interface.

When I bought subscribed to all of their products, I did it to learn how to use all of their products. Interest waned overtime. Video and artwork is fun, but I discovered that writing and photography deserved my full attention for any chance at income. Adobe wouldn’t allow downgrading.

That’s my story with them. There are others using their products at an intense level who cannot consider dropping Adobe, but I happily dug through their website to find the deeply hidden cancellation process. I haven’t…

--

--

Mark Spearman

I hail from Central Ohio. I have a diverse background and enjoy writing to the fullest. See more at http://markspearman.com