The Unexpected Benefits Of The Osmo Pocket 2

Mark Spearman
2 min readNov 18, 2022
Osmo Pocket 2
The Odd Looking Osmo Pocket 2

I bought the Osmo Pocket 2 to solve my wish for a video camera with the ability to easily produce smooth video. I’m into photography, but video is another beast. Video requires extended periods of attention to the details of stabilizing video, framing the subject, and producing decent audio.

I am not a multi-tasker. The thought of a video camera which takes care of stabilization on it’s own is exciting. The gimbal head on the camera works magic. The sound is decent and the viewing screen is somewhat usable. There are going to be compromises in any consumer grade electronic device. The benefit of eliminating one video chore is well worth the compromise.

The unexpected benefit is that the Osmo Pocket 2 doesn’t look like a camera. It gives it a bit of a spy camera feel. The shape and look of the device doesn’t look like any other camera. People think I’m just staring at a strange object when I hold it up to take a video. By the time some figure out that it’s a camera, they are past me. They often are still thinking about what the object in my hand is long after passing.

I’m not trying to be sneaky with the Osmo Pocket 2, but it’s nice to not worry so much about the reaction of other people. When taking video in the streets, the work is so much easier when people are not distracted by a camera.

--

--

Mark Spearman

I hail from Central Ohio. I have a diverse background and enjoy writing to the fullest. See more at http://markspearman.com