Working At Home In The Year 2000.

Mark Spearman
4 min readNov 3, 2022

A basement renovation is underway. Clearing very old tech out is a chore. Maybe there’s a market for the old stuff? I don’t even care and I’ll probably just chuck it. I just want this transformation complete. There is a constant urge to stop and contemplate what I’m doing, the 16 foot long desk really brought back memories.

Why Did I Need A 16 Foot Long Desk?

There were work at home jobs in 2000. Mine lasted about 8 months making Boston pay, living in Ohio. I only visited the Boston once. The workers there were stuffed into tiny cubicles. They loathed me and I ignored their rudeness.

To do the job, I needed separation from the family. It is impossible to concentrate with others on a completely different level of thought. I’ve timed it and 10 minutes of non-interruption is about the max. To the rest of the family, it’s home. No matter what you’re doing, it’s their home where they live. A request for quiet will signal the need for a conversation. After the conversation, you’ll get maybe 5 more minutes until the routine repeats.

This doesn’t happen in an unfinished basement. People don’t want to be there. It’s relatively interruption free. You can work. In my case, it was spacious. Lumber was cheap. A 16 foot long desk with multiple computers using multiple monitors was constructed. It looked like something out of NASA and it made me smile.

Friends helped me build the shelving and desk. Others helped with the wiring and…

--

--

Mark Spearman

I hail from Central Ohio. I have a diverse background and enjoy writing to the fullest. See more at http://markspearman.com